Coronavirus Crisis: Partial Lockdown takes effect on Monday, 30th March

In efforts to safegaurd the lives of the citizenry of Ghana in the midst of the novel Coronavirus (COVID-19), the President of the Republic, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo Addo has officially announced the new restrictions in an address to the nation on Friday.

His fourth Nation’s Address since the outbreak of COVID-19 in the country, the first gentleman of the land outlined stringent measures to curtail the spread of the coronavirus.

To curtail the spread as well ensure effective tracing of contact people of infected people, citizenry are been asked to stay at home and away from others in all but the most limited of circumstances in order to reduce the spread of the coronavirus.

These measures, which is expected to come into force on Monday 1:am will remain in place for at least two weeks, after which they will be reviewed.

Reviewing of these measures will bw possible if evidence shows a decline in the spread of the virus after the elapse of the mandatory two weeks lockdown by the President.

Cities to be affected are Accra, Tema in the Greater Accra region as well as Kumasi and Obuasi in the Ashanti region. 

To ensure the two weeks lockdown in these affected areas arw observed, the president in a televised speech stressed that, police and other relevant authorities will be given new powers to enforce the measures.

In addition, commercial vehicles are expected to comply with social distancing directive to minimize the risk of the spread of the virus.

“The oath of office I swore on February 2017 demands that I dedicate myself to the service of Ghanaian people, therefore, it is my job to protect you and I am determined to do just that. All what the government is doing is seeking to achieve five targets….we have succeeded in stopping the importation of the disease into the country”, he acknowledged.

“However, prevailing circumstances mean stricter measures need to be put in place to stop the spread of the virus in-country in Accra, Tema, Kasoa and Kumasi,” he said. 

Below are affected areas in Greater Accra 

In Greater Accra, the following areas will be affected: 

1. Accra Metropolis;

2. Tema Metropolis; 

3. Tema West Municipality; 

4. Ledzokuku Municipality; 

5. Krowor Municipality; 

6. Adentan Municipality; 

7. Ashiaman Municipality; 

8. La-Nkwantanang-Madina Municipality; 

9. La-Dade-Kotopon Municipality; 

10. Okaikwei North Municipality; 

11. Ablekuma North Municipality; 

12. Ablekuma West Municipality;

13. Ablekuma Central Municipality; 

14. Ayawaso East Municipality; 

15. Ayawaso North Municipality; 

16. Ayawaso West Municipality; 

17. Ayawaso Central Municipality 

18. Ga West Municipality; 

19. Ga North Municipality; 

20. Ga Central Municipality; 

21. Ga South Municipality; 

22. Ga East Municipality; 

23. Korle-Klottey Municipality;

24. Weija/Gbawe Municipality; 

25. Kpone Katamanso Municipality; and 

26. Awutu Senya East Municipality. 

In the Greater Kumasi Metropolitan Area and contiguous districts, the following areas are affected: 

1. Kumasi Metropolis; 

2. Asokwa Municipality; 

3. Suame Municipality; 

4. Old Tafo Municipality; 

5. Oforikrom Municipality; 

6. Asokore Mampong Municipality; 

7. Kwadaso Municipality;


328 View(s)